UMass establishes a chapter of the National Agricultural Honor Society

gammasig2The Director of the Stockbridge School of Agriculture, Dr. Wesley Autio, provided the leadership for the  establishment of a local chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta, the National Agricultural Honor Society  at the University of Massachusetts in 2014.  Faculty, graduate students and top seniors and juniors in agriculturally related departments may be  invited to membership and receive this important recognition of commitment to excellence.

Gamma Sigma Delta began as a professional agricultural society called at Ohio State University on December 1, 1905.  Its founders were the dean of the college, several faculty members, and the top undergraduate students in the College of Agriculture.  There are currently 52 chapters in the U.S., Puerto Rico, the Philippines and Honduras.

The current officers of the UMass Chapter are:

President – Dr. Geunhwa Jung
President-elect – Mr. Michael Davidsohn
Secretary – Dr. John M. Gerber
Treasurer – Dr. Cassie Uricchio
Historian – Dr. Allen Barker

Past-president – Dr. Wesley Autio

Gamma Sigma Delta represent the initial letters of the Greek words Gaia, Syndesmos and Demeter and stand for the statement “the binding together of earth, the mother of all, and the practice of agriculture, the arts relating to the welfare of  all humankind.”


%d bloggers like this: